2010 TCIPG Industry Workshop

NCSA Auditorium
1205 W. Clark Street, Urbana, Illinois
November 3-4, 2010

Architecture and Components for a Resilient Power Grid

Tuesday, November 2

6:00 p.m.

Dinner Reception
Luna Restaurant
116 N. Chestnut, Champaign

Wednesday, November 3

7:30 a.m. – 8:00 a.m.

Registration and Continental Breakfast

8:00 a.m. – 8:15 a.m.

Welcome by Illinois Chancellor and Provost Robert Easter

8:15 a.m. – 8:40 a.m.

TCIPG Introduction and Overview
William Sanders, Illinois

8:40 a.m. – 9:10 a.m.

TCIPG Research Talk: Trustworthy Cyber Infrastructure and Technologies for Wide-Area Monitoring and Control
Himanshu Khurana, Illinois

9:10 a.m. – 9:30 a.m.

TCIPG Research Talk: Trustworthy Cyber Infrastructure and Technologies for Active Demand Management
Tom Overbye, Illinois

9:30 a.m. – 10:00 a.m.


10:00 a.m. – 10:15 a.m.

TCIPG Research Talk: Responding to and Managing Cyber Events
William Sanders, Illinois

10:15 a.m. – 10:45 a.m.

TCIPG Research Talk: Risk and Security Assessment
Zbigniew Kalbarczyk, Illinois

10:45 a.m. – 11:00 a.m.

TCIPG Industry Interactions Overview
Pete Sauer, Illinois

11:00 a.m. – 11:20 a.m.

TCIPG Education Overview
Jana Sebestik, Illinois

11:20 a.m. – 12:45 p.m.


12:45 p.m. – 1:15 p.m.

Cyber Security for Energy Delivery Systems, Carol Hawk, Department of Energy

1:15 p.m. – 2:30 p.m.

Panel Discussion: Addressing Large Scale Malware Threats
Moderator: Sean Smith, Dartmouth College
Bruce Barnett, GE
Scott Mix, NERC
Steven Parker, EnergySec
Edmond Rogers, Ameren

2:30 p.m. – 3:00 p.m.


3:00 p.m. – 4:15 p.m.

Panel Discussion: Data-centric Approaches to Grid Resiliency
Moderator: Carl Hauser, Washington State University
Jeff Dagle, Pacific Northwest National Laboratory
Brian Gaucher, IBM
Krishna Kumar, Space Time Insight
Russell Robertson, Grid Protection Alliance

4:15 p.m. – 5:30 p.m.

Poster Session

6:00 p.m.

Dinner, NCSA Atrium

Thursday, November 4

7:45 a.m. – 8:15 a.m.

Continental Breakfast

8:15 a.m. – 8:45 a.m.

Hank Kenchington, Department of Energy
Doug Maughan, Department of Homeland Security


8:45 a.m. – 10:00 a.m.

Panel Talk: Trustworthy Distribution System Architectures
Moderator: Alejandro Dominguez-Garcia, Illinois
Sadu Bajekal, IBM
Dave Whitehead, Schweitzer Engineering
Andrew Wright, N-Dimension
Meiyuan Zhou, Intel

10:00 a.m. – 10:30 a.m.


10:30 a.m. – 11:45 a.m.

Panel Discussion: Validating Grid Resiliency
Moderator: Klara Nahrstedt, Illinois
Gunhee Lee, Korea ETRI
Wayne Manges, Oak Ridge National Laboratory
Miles McQueen, Idaho National Laboratory
Jason Stamp, Sandia National Laboratories

11:45 a.m. – 11:50 a.m.


11:50 a.m. – 12:45 p.m.


1:15 p.m. – 3:30 p.m.

Optional Tour of Petascale Supercomputing Center, Research Park, and the TCIPG Smart Grid Demo at the Children's Museum