Error message

  • Notice: Undefined offset: 223 in user_node_load() (line 3697 of /home/tcipgpro/public_html/modules/user/user.module).
  • Notice: Trying to get property 'name' of non-object in user_node_load() (line 3697 of /home/tcipgpro/public_html/modules/user/user.module).
  • Notice: Undefined offset: 223 in user_node_load() (line 3698 of /home/tcipgpro/public_html/modules/user/user.module).
  • Notice: Trying to get property 'picture' of non-object in user_node_load() (line 3698 of /home/tcipgpro/public_html/modules/user/user.module).
  • Notice: Undefined offset: 223 in user_node_load() (line 3699 of /home/tcipgpro/public_html/modules/user/user.module).
  • Notice: Trying to get property 'data' of non-object in user_node_load() (line 3699 of /home/tcipgpro/public_html/modules/user/user.module).

2012 TCIPG Industry Workshop

iHotel and Conference Center
1900 South First Street, Champaign, Illinois
October 30-31, 2012

Download PDF of Agenda
Download Posters from Poster Session
Download Fact Sheet Book from Poster Session
Watch Research Activity Demos
2013 Workshop Dates: November 6-7, 2013
Go to Workshop Announcement Page

Building Cyber Security and Resiliency into the Grid

Monday, October 29

6:00 p.m. – 8:30 p.m.

Dinner Reception
Biaggi's Ristorante Italiano
2235 S. Neil Street, Champaign

Tuesday, October 30

7:30 a.m. – 8:00 a.m.

Registration and Continental Breakfast

8:00 a.m. – 8:10 a.m.

Michael Bragg, Interim Dean, College of Engineering

8:10 a.m. – 8:35 a.m.

TCIPG Introduction and Overview, William H. Sanders 

8:35 a.m. – 9:05 a.m.

Working Together to Achieve the Industry-led Roadmap Vision,**
Carol Hawk, Program Manager, Cybersecurity for Energy Delivery, Department of Energy

9:05 a.m. – 9:30 a.m.

TCIPG Cluster: Trustworthy Technologies for Wide-Area Monitoring and Control, Carl Hauser

9:30 a.m. – 9:55 a.m.

TCIPG Cluster: Trustworthy Technologies for Local Area Management, Monitoring, and Control, Tom Overbye

9:55 a.m. – 10:20 a.m.

TCIPG Cluster: Responding To and Managing Cyber Events, William H. Sanders

10:20 a.m. – 10:50 a.m.


10:50 a.m. – 11:20 a.m.

TCIPG Cluster: Trust Assessment, Zbignew Kalbarczyk

11:20 a.m. – 11:40 a.m.

TCIPG Education Overview, Jana Sebestik

11:40 a.m. – 12:00 p.m.

TCIPG Testbed Overview, David M. Nicol

12:00 p.m. – 1:00 p.m.


1:00 p.m. – 1:30 p.m.

An Update from Washington – Cyber and R&D, Douglas M. Maughan, Director, Cyber Security Division, Science and Technology Directorate, Department of Homeland Security

1:30 p.m. – 3:00 p.m.

Industry Panel: Secure Integration and Interoperability
Moderator: *Tim Yardley, University of Illinois 
*Dennis Gammel, Research & Development Manager, Communication Systems, Schweitzer Engineering Laboratories*
**Himanshu Khurana, Senior Manager, Honeywell Automation and Control Systems Research Labs
Galen Rasche, Technical Executive, EPRI
*Andrew Wright, CTO, N-Dimension Solutions

3:00 p.m. – 3:30 p.m.


3:30 p.m. – 5:00 p.m.

Industry Panel: Lessons Learned in SG Cybersecurity
Moderator: *Dave Bakken, Washington State University
Chris Blask, Chair, Industrial Control System Information Sharing & Analysis Center (ICS-ISAC)
Jeff Dagle, Chief Electrical Engineer, Pacific Northwest National Laboratory
Lynda McGhie, Executive Advisor, Smart Grid Cyber Security and Critical Infrastructure Protection, Quanta Technology
*Marcus Noel, Cyber Security Analyst, FirstEnergy

5:00 p.m. – 5:05 p.m.

Poster Session Introduction, Pete Sauer

5:05 p.m. – 5:15 p.m.


5:15 p.m. – 6:30 p.m.

Poster Session

6:30 p.m.


Wednesday, October 31  

8:00 a.m. – 8:30 a.m.

Continental Breakfast

8:30 a.m. – 10:00 a.m.

Industry Panel: Consumer Acceptance of the Smart Grid
Moderator: Sean W. Smith, Dartmouth College
Kevin B. Jones, Assistant Director, Institute for Energy and the Environment, Vermont Law School
Craig Miller, Manager, Smart Grid Demonstration Grant, National Rural Electric Cooperative Association
*Kristin Munsch, Director of Policy and Senior Attorney, Illinois Citizens Utility Board
*Paul Myrda, Technical Executive, EPRI

10:00 a.m. – 10:30 a.m.


10:30 a.m. – 12:00 p.m.

Industry Panel: Best Practices in Cybersecurity
Moderator: Anna Scaglione, UC Davis
* Slade Griffin, Director, Energy Systems Security, EnerNex
Matt Luallen, Owner, CYBATI
*Steve Parker, VP Technology Research and Projects, EnergySec
Paul Skare, Chief Cyber Security Program Manager, Pacific Northwest National Laboratory

12:00 p.m. – 12:05 p.m.

Concluding Remarks

12:05 p.m. – 1:00 p.m.


1:30 p.m. – 6:00 p.m.

TCIPG Private Review Meeting
Restricted to TCIPG Sponsors, Researchers, and EAB Members

*Slides not used
**Slides not available, though may be at a later time.

Go to Workshop Announcement Page